Two thoughts on New Year resolutions

Most of us take this time of the year to look back at what was and what will be ahead. Maybe some of you even take some time to realise that there is some change needed in your life. This definitely happened to me over the past few days. The funny thing is that I realise again and again and year after year around mid January (the latest) all my great plans and resolutions are down the drain and I continue the easy way of life that I am used to, because change is difficult and takes some effort.

Therefore, it is time to try something new. I remember a time at university when we talked about goal setting and breaking down these goals into smaller objectives that will get you where you want to go as part of a marketing strategy. Now transforming this from Marketing to New Years resolutions, the resolution or desired outcome is the goal. In order to achieve this goal we can break it down in to smaller objectives and these objectives should be set as SMART objectives. But for some reason I was still not quiet happy about this framework and I started to browse the net for some inspiration and I found a very nice article about making these objectives SMARTER. And here is what it stands for:

S – Specific

M – Measurable

A – Achievable

R – Realistic

T – Time-bound

E – Extending

R – Rewarding

I really like the extension of ER and seems like these were the things that were missing last year in order to make them work. Although, I never had a problem finding stretching objectives, I never did put a reward on them when small things have been achieved. Give it a try! I definitely will.

Another things that I will try this year is that I will write down my goals and objectives. This should help me to manifest them in my mind and hopefully I am more likely to stick to them.

I hope that you can get some inspiration from this post. I wish you all a great start into the New Year and I hope you will celebrate in style. Please feel free to let me know you thoughts.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

