The Christmas tree dilemma

Every year in December, many families around the world have to make a very important decision to make – what kind of christmas tree to buy. Since, I am living together with my girlfriend this decision seems to always start a discussion. The dilemma is if it should be a real Christmas tree or a plastic one and there are many arguments for both sides. here you read about my opinion on having a real Christmas tree in your home.

Candle and decoration on a German Christmas tree

Image via Wikipedia

One of my main arguments for having a real Christmas tree instead of an artificial one is that it gives the room a natural smell. When I was a child there was no option of buying a plastic tree and therefore, I got used to having a real in the house. I think it is much more authentic and reminds me of my childhood and give me that homely feeling.

Additionally, I think that it is a small part of being sustainable as these trees are made into compost after the festive season and are grown again to new trees every year. In recent years, my family in Germany even went that far to keep the trees and plant them int he garden. Some made it and some not, but overall a way of reusing it.

On the other hand, my girlfriend Kriszti prefers to have a plastic tree around for Christmas. It is reusable for many years – that is true. However, it is a nother piece of plastic around in the house and we do have enough of these around. Moreover, I think it does not look as nice as a real Christmas tree and does not remind me of my childhood with all the lovely smells.

English: An artificial Christmas tree.

Image via Wikipedia

Another point the plastic tree side is making that you do not have to clean around the tree every day to clean up all the pine-needles. However, out of my own experience there are some Christmas trees that will stay with all there needles on for about 3 weeks without loosing too many such as the abies nordmanniana.

To make a long story short, I think that there are many arguments to both sides. In my opinion it comes down to personal taste and this can always be argued. Do you have the same discussion in your family? What kind of Christmas tree do you prefer? Let me know!

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “The Christmas tree dilemma”

  1. Lonnie says :

    Nice post!

    Artificial trees are not cheap these days. We have been getting real trees because of the price and the fact that you don’t have to store them somewhere for a year. Either one can be nice and is especailly so for us now that we have a grandson. He loves the tree.

    Enjoy your tree!

    • mavegyver says :

      Thank you for your comment Lonnie.

      It is true I have not thought about the price difference at all. Maybe one more argument pro real Christmas trees.

      Have a great festive season.

Leave a Reply

